# **Drug Recognition Expert School**



#### Washington State Patrol Impaired Driving Section Drug Evaluation and Classification (DEC) Program

Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) School trains and certifies law enforcement officers to conduct examinations of drug-impaired drivers. This class is completed in three phases. The Academic Training which is the first and second phase is conducted over 10 days (80 hours) and includes courses in physiology, vital signs, standardized field sobriety testing (SFST), and extensive material on each of the seven categories of drugs of abuse. Students will need to be prepared to work hard and study often to successfully complete this course. The third phase is the Certification Phase and is typically conducted over five days (40-50 hours). Students get hands-on practice with subjects suspected to be under the influence of drugs and that phase culminates with a comprehensive written examination. This program requires a substantial commitment on the part of both the student and the student's agency. The International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP) is the regulating and certifying organization for the DRE program. DRE certification is valid for a two-year period after which the DRE can seek re-certification by meeting criteria established by IACP and the WA State DRE Coordinator.

## Prerequisites:

Applicant candidates must be a state certified or commissioned law enforcement officer in a full-time paid capacity and must have three (3) years of law enforcement experience. They must have successfully passed the NHTSA/IACP DUI Detection and SFST course (24 hours), successfully passed the Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (ARIDE) course (16 hours), and have a valid BAC (Draeger) card.

## COST: FREE

## Date and Location:

The DRE School is scheduled January 8-19, 2024 in Suquamish, WA. The DRE Field Certifications will be held January 30-February 4, 2024 in Mesa, Arizona.

## **Application:**

A special application is required and student selection is competitive. This application is located on the Washington State Patrol's <u>Impaired Driving Section (IDS) Training website</u>; listed under DRE Training. Applications must be received by 12:00 p.m., Wednesday, November 22, 2023.

The selection criterion includes individual accomplishments, training, experience, and administrative and geographic needs with a focus on agency support and command recommendation. Class size is limited to 12 students and all applicants are not guaranteed entrance.

All applications must be submitted electronically to:

DrugRecognitionExpert@wsp.wa.gov

For questions, please contact: Sergeant Ryan Raymond, DEC Program Coordinator <u>Ryan.Raymond@wsp.wa.gov</u>, (509) 881-0177

Ms. Rebecca Cortez, Program Specialist <u>Rebecca.Cortez@wsp.wa.gov</u>, (206) 720-3018, ext. 24126