

NOTICE:

- The start date for your academy must be at least 90 days from the approval of this application.
- Once your academy is approved an academy schedule is due 30 days from the start of the Academy. The academy hosting agency is responsible for maintaining the schedule per public disclosure law.
- Application Forms for the Basic Reserve Academy are due a minimum of **7 days before the start of your academy**. If applications are not received by our office by this time your academy.
- Notice of Hire forms for future reserve officers are due **21 days before the end of your academy**.
- The request for certificates for all recruits expected to complete the academy is due **21 days before the end of your academy** (same time as any outstanding Notice of Hire forms).
- Curriculum for the Reserve Academy is a living document and may change at any time. Academy Commanders are responsible for ensuring any new curriculum is integrated into any existing schedule.

I acknowledge and understand the deadlines stated above.

Academy Commander or Coordinator Signature



REQUEST FOR RECOGNITION OF BASIC RESERVE ACADEMY

NAME OF ACADEMY	LOCATION	DATES Orientation Date to Graduation Date	
		From: To:	
NAME & RANK OF ACADEMY COMMANDER	AGENCY	WORK PHONE & EMAIL ADDRESS	

INSTRUCTIONAL BLOCK	MINIMUM HOURS	REQUIREMENT	PROJECTED NUMBER OF HOURS	INSTRUCTOR'S RANK & NAME (first and last)	INSTRUCTIOR QUALIFICATION
Academy Commander's Time	2 Hours	Performance Objectives			This should be delivered by the designated Reserve Academy Commander or their designee.
Report Writing	12 Hours	Performance Objectives			Patrol Officer with excellent report writing skills
Criminal Investigation	24 Hours	Performance Objectives			Patrol Officer or Detective
Criminal Law	28 Hours	Performance Objectives			It is RECOMMENDED that this course be co-instructed by a prosecutor/deputy prosecutor and a Washington State certified peace officer with significant patrol, training, and teaching experience (i.e FTO/PTO/Former Academy Instructor)
Criminal Procedures	34 Hours	Performance Objectives			Patrol Officers or Detective
Communication Skills/ Crisis Intervention	21 Hours	Performance Objectives			Crisis Team, Patrol Officers



REQUEST FOR RECOGNITION OF BASIC RESERVE ACADEMY

Washington State Criminal Justice Training Commission 19010 1st Avenue South Burien, WA 98148-2055 206-835-7300

INSTRUCTIONAL BLOCK	MINIMUM HOURS	REQUIREMENT	PROJECTED NUMBER OF HOURS	INSTRUCTOR'S RANK & NAME (first and last)	INSTRUCTIOR QUALIFICATION
Statewide CIT - 8 Hour Training In Seat or Virtual	8 hours			Contact CJTC CIT division to make arrangements for an instructor	Instructor must be CJTC Certified or Approved for teaching this course. Courses may also be found on the CJTC Website for remote viewing.
Cultural Diversity Ethics	13 Hours Emotional Intelligence 2 hours Community Expectations 1 hour Diversity/Biased-based Policing 2 hours History of Race and Policing - 8 hours - can be 2, 4-hour blocks. 3 Hours	Performance Objectives Performance Objectives			Internal Affairs, Detective, or Academy Commander
Duty to Intervene CURRENTLY NOT REQUIRED	8			CJTC ABLE Instructor Certified	Instructor must be ABLE Certified to teach. May- be able to receive training via online platform.
Defensive Tactics	52 Hours	Performance Objectives			Instructor must have successfully completed Level 2 Defensive Tactics and recertified within 3 years of last certification. If your DT Instruction includes Strikes, or Baton Usage, your instructor must be at least level 2, and have additional Baton Instructor certification and or recertification within 3 years of last certification. A Master Instructor Certification is also accepted as long as the MI has recertified with 3 years of the last certification.
EVOC	12 Hours (Classroom) 8 Hours (Practical)	Performance Objectives			Instructor must have attended either a WSCJTC sponsored, or WSP sponsored (hosted) EVOC course. Proof of attendance at the WSP course may be required as some certificates do not show on records.



REQUEST FOR RECOGNITION OF BASIC RESERVE ACADEMY

INSTRUCTIONAL BLOCK	MINIMUM HOURS	REQUIREMENT	PROJECTED NUMBER OF HOURS	INSTRUCTOR'S RANK & NAME (first and last)	INSTRUCTIOR QUALIFICATION
Firearms	42 Hours Combined Classroom and Range	Performance Objectives			Instructor must have successfully completed CJTC Level 1 or Level 2 handgun instructor training and has recertified within 3 years of the last certification. If shotgun is taught during this course, your instructor must have successfully passed the CJTC Shotgun Instructor course and recertified within 3 years of the last certification. The same applies for Rifle. If Rifle is taught during the Reserve Academy, your instructor must have at least Rifle, level 1 instructor certification. and recertified within 3 years of the last certification.
Scenarios	28 hours	Building Searches Traffic Stop Felony Stop Field Interview			Scenarios should be instructed by Patrol Officers that have attended the CJTC Patrol Tactics Instructor Course or have knowledge of the Patrol Tactics instructional methodology.
Patrol Tactics	34 Hours	Performance Objectives			Patrol Tactics - this block should be instructed by Officers who have completed the CJTC Patrol Tactics Instructor Course.
Radio Procedures	1 Hour	Performance Objectives			Patrol Officer Or Communications Specialist
Traffic	26 Hours (Classroom & Presentations)	Performance Objectives			Patrol Officer, Traffic Officer
Use of Force	8 Hours	Performance Objectives			Patrol Officer, IIU, Prosecutor, anyone that can deliver the three Use of Force presentations with an above average understanding of the newest changes to the use of force in HB 1310.
First Aid	Pre-requisite	Verification of Basic First Aid			Taught by a certified instructor or otherwise approved by WSCJTC



REQUEST FOR RECOGNITION OF BASIC RESERVE ACADEMY

INSTRUCTIONAL BLOCK	MINIMUM HOURS	REQUIREMENT	PROJECTED NUMBER OF HOURS	INSTRUCTOR'S RANK & NAME (first and last)	INSTRUCTIOR QUALIFICATION
		Card with CPR certification			
ACCESS	As mandated by WSP	Optional Course			Taught by an instructor authorized by Washington State Patrol - usually an agency has an ACCESS manager. Possibly a Radio Communications Supervisor.
Total Hours	Minimum 364 -356 hours Required Without ACCESS				356 hours without ABLE/Duty to Intervene
COMP FINAL	3	Online Acadis			The Comprehensive Final is not included in the "Minimum training Hour" total.



REQUEST FOR RECOGNITION OF BASIC RESERVE ACADEMY

In addition to those requirements set forth above, each student must successfully complete a comprehensive final examination, administered by the WSCJTC, as a pre-requisite to receiving a reserve certificate. Such examination will be based upon the student performance objectives and should be administered after all instruction has been provided.

Please complete the following to ensure timely and proper test administration. The TEST DATE must be at least one week prior to the GRADUATION date and the examination will be administered by a proctor authorized by the WSCJTC

TEST DATE	Graduation Date	NUMBER OF STUDENTS ATTENDING ACADEMY	TEST TIME ALLOW UP TO 3 HOURS
			From: AM/PM To: AM/PM

LOCATION (ADDRESS) OF CLASSROOM	REQUEST ACADEMY TO BE	POSTED ON CJTC WEBSITE	COST TO PARTICIPATE (IF ANY)
	Yes: No:		

PRINT NAME OF REQUESTOR	COMMISSION USE ONLY
	Approved: 🗆
SIGNATURE OF REQUESTOR	Disapproved:
	PROCTOR ASSIGNED
AGENCY OF REQUESTOR	
	ACADEMY NOTIFIED
DATE	SESSION NUMBER ASSIGNED