CIT - Crisis Intervention Team 8-hr 911/Dispatcher In-service

This 8-hour course trains 911 operators and dispatchers on how to recognize and respond more effectively to individuals in behavioral health crisis.  Additionally, the course will provide skills to work more effectively with law enforcement, first responders, and other criminal justice personnel who are sent to respond to those in a behavioral health crisis. 

The course addresses critical 911/dispatch specific topics including:

  • Recognition of mental illness signs, symptoms, and behaviors
  • Crisis de-escalation, interventions skills, and communication techniques
  • Local service and resources linkages (e.g., mental health and crisis lines).

This course is required under the State of Washington’s Trueblood settlement agreement for agencies in the Phase One areas (Spokane Region, Southwest Region, and Pierce County). 

To register for the course, contact your Training Manager to assign the training to you via LMS.

Upcoming classes are listed below.  Registration does not guarantee acceptance into the class.  Selections will be completed four weeks prior to the class; those accepted into the class will receive a notification at that time.

Free
Bob Graham (CIT Statewide Manager)

(206) 835-7302

Who can attend our classes?

911/dispatchers in Washington State currently employed with a call center or dispatch agency,

Reimbursement

Backfill and overtime funding is available for all required personnel.  Agencies will be reimbursed for backfill/overtime at the rate of $45/hour ($360/day) for each employee in attendance. 

Dress Code

Visitors attending training at the WSCJTC are encouraged to wear their agency logo shirt/uniform or agency ID badge while on campus. 

Visitors not wearing agency identification can attend classes in business casual attire.  They will need to check in at the front desk and wear a clip-on visitor's identification card.

Regulation

There are no RCW or WACs that require this training.  However, the State of Washington’s Trueblood settlement mandates that all 911/Dispatchers in the following counties complete this 8-hour training by June 30, 2021.

Phase One Trueblood Counties: Spokane, Pend Oreille, Stevens, Ferry, Adams, Lincoln, Clark, Skamania, Klickitat, and Pierce.

Schedule

Courses typically run 0800-1700 unless noted otherwise on the session. Sessions can vary to accommodate local agencies’ schedules.

Cancellation

Deadline to cancel is 7 days prior to class date. Send an e-mail to cit@cjtc.wa.gov to cancel your registration.
Top