First Level Supervision 80 Hour Online

The Washington State Criminal Justice Training Commission (WSCJTC), and the University of Wisconsin-Platteville (UWP) have partnered together to offer the First Level Supervision 80 hour Online course.  This course focuses on the role and function of the first-line supervisor in criminal justice agencies.  Participants will examine the importance of leadership styles, supervisory skills, functions and practices, communication skills, motivation and team building in the development of line personnel.  This course runs over a 15 week college term and requires regular interaction in the class discussions board.  All assignments must be submitted by the preset deadlines.  The following are the core components of the course:

  • Role of the Supervisor: Essentials of high performance supervision
  • Basic Planning, Time Management and Change Management
  • Supervisory and Team Leadership
  • Supervisor Functions in Organizational Administration
  • Dynamic Communication Skills and Stress Management
  • Personnel Leadership
  • Ethics in Law Enforcement Management
  • Crisis Management and Critical Incident Management

Upon successful completion of the course, students will have satisfied the 40 hour core training requirement and the additional 40 hours of electives to obtain First Level Supervision Career Level Certification.

To register for the course, contact your Training Manager to assign the training to you via LMS or complete the application under "Required Forms". 

Upcoming classes are listed below.  Registration does not guarantee acceptance into the class.  Selections will be completed four weeks prior to the class; those accepted into the class will receive a notification at that time.

If classes are full, or not available, please complete the  Course Interest Survey.  This is not a waiting list, but instead helps us see if there is enough interest to create another class.  If we schedule a session, we will contact everyone who has completed the survey and request that registration be completed.

This course is free for mandated personnel (see regulations below).  For non-mandated attendees, the cost is $350.
Leanna Bidinger (Statewide Regional Training Manager, Leadership Manager)

(206) 835-7307

Who can attend our classes?

This class is only open to first level supervisors who are actively employed as corrections officers, law enforcement officers and other public safety personnel.

Required Equipment

Selections for this course will be made four weeks prior to the course start date.   At that time, CJTC will mail you the text book required for the course.

You may begin setting up your login and password through the University of Wisconsin when you receive your text book.  The login and password information comes to you directly from the University.  If you have any questions please contact the Program Manager.

Regulation

This course is required for first-level supervisors in law enforcement.  For more information on these regulations, please review the following RCWs:

This course is required for first-level supervisors in corrections.  For more information on these regulations, please review the following RCWs and WACs:

Schedule

 

 

Cancellation

Deadline to cancel is 7 days prior to class.

$350 fee for those who register and do not participate in the course.


REQUIRED FORMS

Registration is preferred through the LMS system.  If a paper application is needed, please complete the form below and email to atd@cjtc.state.wa.us for processing. 

Top