Sudden Unexpected Infant Death Investigations
This three day course is for WA State law enforcement investigators, coroners and medical examiners who are responsible for investigating child fatality cases. The goal of the course is to help investigators become proficient in investigating sudden and unexplained infant death and serious injury scenes. It will include learning how to use dolls for reconstruction photos and suspect demonstrations. Attendees will receive:
- An "Investigator's Kit" for child fatality investigations (value over $150) that includes a high-quality patrol bag with special dolls that can be used for reconstruction photos as well as for re-enactments with suspects
- The CDC’s Sudden Unexplained Infant Death Investigation (SUIDI) form
- WA State's "CPOD Guidelines for First Responders to Child Fatalities and Serious Physical Injuries"
Captain Clay Jansson of the Oakland County Sheriff’s Office in Pontiac, Michigan (ret.) and Major Connie Shingledecker of the Manatee County Sheriff's Office in Florida (ret.) will be two of the featured instructors.
To register for the course, contact your
Training Manager to assign the training to you via LMS or complete the
application under "Required Forms".
Upcoming classes are listed below. Registration does not
guarantee acceptance into the class. Selections will be completed four
weeks prior to the class; those accepted into the class will receive a
notification at that time.
If classes are full, or not available, please complete the Course Interest Survey. This is not a waiting
list, but instead helps us see if there is enough interest to create another
class. If we schedule a session, we will contact everyone who has
completed the survey and request that registration be completed.
Who can attend our classes?
WA state law enforcement investigators are accepted on a first come, first serve basis.
Death Investigators from Coroner's and Medical Examiner's offices are encouraged to apply.
Visitors attending training at the WSCJTC are encouraged to wear their agency logo shirt/uniform or agency ID badge while on campus.
Visitors not wearing agency identification can attend classes in business casual attire. They will need check in at the front desk and wear a clip-on visitor's identification card.
Class will be held three days from 0830 to 1700.
Dates and locations vary by class.
Deadline to cancel is 7 days prior to class. Send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org to cancel your registration.
$100 no show or late cancellation fee
Registration is preferred through the LMS system. If a paper application is needed, please complete the form below and email to email@example.com for processing.
|Session||Session Title||Selection Date||Dates & Hours||Location||Status||Cost|
|6007-1||SUIDI||5/20/2020||6/17/2020 - 6/19/2020
0800 - 1700
19010 1st Avenue South
Burien, WA 98148