Training & Education

WSCJTC holds a variety of courses for those in the law enforcement, corrections, public safety and the criminal justice field. Many of these courses have prerequisistes that must be met, and may only be open to certain individuals. Click any course below for more information on availability and requirements.

Disclaimer: The courses labeled as WSCJTC are fully supported by Washington State Criminal Justice Training Commission, all registration, curriculum, and instructors are managed by Commission. Courses labeled with Vendor are being advertised as a courtesy to the stakeholder agency hosting the course. WSCJTC has not evaluated the content or presentation for these courses – these listings are merely a convenience to our stakeholders and should not be interpreted as an endorsement by WSCJTC.

Private Security, Private Investigator, and Bail Bond Recovery Agent Firearms Certificate

Welcome to the Washington State Criminal Justice Training Commission (WSCJTC) Private Security, Private Investigator, and Bail Bond Recovery Agent Firearms Certificate Page.  You must have a Firearms Certificate to obtain an Armed License from the Washington State Department of Licensing (WA DOL).  The WSCJTC is mandated to issue Firearms Certificates per RCW and WAC.

Firearms Certificate Program Update 11/2023

Firearms Certificate Program Update 05/2023

Obtaining a Firearms Certificate

Prior to applying for a firearms certificate, Private Security &  Investigators must have an active unarmed or armed license issued by WA DOL. And Bail Bond Recovery Agents must have either an armed/unarmed license issued by WA DOL or a concealed pistol license.

Applications must be submitted by the employing company.

Companies must submit the initial firearms certificate application packet through the WSCJTC Acadis Portal. If you need access to the Portal, please contact pspi@cjtc.wa.gov.The Firearms Certificate process:

  • Apply at the Washington State Department of Licensing (DOL) for your Armed License.
  • Complete an 8-hour Firearms Certificate Training Class using a Private Security Certified Instructor.  We offer a study guide that is available for download.
  • Complete the written test.
  • Complete your firearm qualification for each firearm make/model you carry while working (including long arms, if applicable)Fully Commissioned Law Enforcement Officers that would like to apply for a Firearms Certificate, please view this information sheet

Application submission:

Companies must send the initial application packet to WSCJTC on the guard’s/investigator’s/agent’s behalf through the WSCJTC Acadis Portal. If you need access to the Portal, please contact pspi@cjtc.wa.gov.  

Fees are submitted separate from the application packet.

Fee submission:

The $100 application fee (per application type & per person) must be sent to the WSCJTC in tandem with the application. Once the fee is received, staff will begin processing the application. Approved applications will result in a firearms certificate being emailed to the applicant, the company, and WA DOL. 

There are 2 options for fee submission:

  1. Mailed in: Attach a note or memo to the payment and allow 2 weeks for processing this type of payment. The WSCJTC accepts checks, cashier’s checks, money orders, or ACH/Wire Transfers. We do not accept credit or debit cards. 

WSCJTC
Attn: PS/PI/BBRA
PO Box 40905
Olympia, WA 98504-0905

  1. ACH/Wire Transfer: If you would like to use ACH/ Wire Transfer, click here for instructions.  

Termination, Resignation and Transfers

Terminations/Resignations:

Once an armed employee is no longer working armed, has resigned, or has been terminated, company representatives may complete the “Separation of Civilian/Non-Certified Personnel Webform” through the WSCJTC Acadis Portal.

Agency Transfers There is no cost for this transaction.

To be eligible for an agency transfer:

  • The applicant must have a current firearms certificate issued in the name of the previous employer.
    • Applicant may log into their Acadis Portal account to obtain a copy, or
    • A copy may be requested through pspi@cjtc.wa.gov.
      • Please allow a minimum of 2 business days for a response.
  • Applicant must be hired within 60 days of leaving former employer.

How to submit application

  • Email as a COMBINED PACKET in a PDF format to pspi@cjtc.wa.gov
    • Do not submit through Acadis.

Required Documents:

  • Form 721A – Application
  • Copy of current WSCJTC firearms certificate issued under former employer.
  • Form 723 – Criminal History Records Check
  • If retaining expiration date of previous employment’s firearms certificate:
    • Form 729 – Handgun Qualification
      • Must conduct a new handgun qualification, with a PS Handgun instructor, for new company.
  • If renewing previous employments firearms certificate:
    • Applicant must attend a 4-hour renewal course.
  • Form 729 – Handgun Qualification
  • Form 731 – Firearms Certificate Written Test

Optional Forms:

  • Include qualification forms 728, additional 729, and/or 730(a), as applicable.
    • One qualification form is required for each firearm listed on this form.

Add/Remove Firearms to/from an active firearms certificate. There is no cost for this transaction.

How to submit application

  • Email as a COMBINED PACKET in a PDF format to pspi@cjtc.wa.gov
    • Do not submit through Acadis.

Required Documents:

  • Form 721B - Application
  • Employer must complete and sign this form.
    • Include qualification forms 728, 729, and/or 730, as applicable.
      • The firearms qualification forms must be completed and signed by a PS Certified Firearms Instructor and the Applicant.
      • One qualification form is required for each firearm listed on this form.

*Please note, adding a firearm to a firearms certificate, will not renew the certificate.* 

Application Documents

 The following forms are available for download and use:

Packet - PS Add-Remove Firearms

Packet - PS Firearms Certificate Application

Packet - PS Agency Transfer

Form 728 – PS Shotgun Qualification Form

Form 730 and 730A – PS Rifle Qualification Form

Additional Resources/ Frequently Asked Questions

Overview of the eight-hour and four-hour certification training.  

Question Answer

I have a Firearms Certificate already and want to add a weapon to my record. How do I do this?

Complete and submit the “Packet – Add-Remove Firearms.” 

  • We add the firearm to the existing certificate, adding a firearm will not renew the certificate.

Private Security/Investigator - can I participate in the 8-hour Firearms Certificate Training Class if I don’t have an active unarmed Private Security or Investigator license issued by the WA DOL?

No, you must have an active unarmed license issued by the WA DOL. See RCW 18-170-050 or RCW 18-165-040

My company name, address, or contact details have changed; how do I notify the WSCJTC of the change?

  • Business name: If changing the name of your company, submit Form 721C also attach a list of employees and business license showing the name of your business.
  • Address or contact information: Submit Form 721C

Do I send my fingerprint information to the WSCJTC?

No. Do not send any fingerprint information to the WSCJTC. Fingerprinting is processed by the Department of Licensing (DOL), please visit this website for more information.

Can a Firearms Certificate be used by more than one company?

No. If you work for more than one company, you will need a Firearms Certificates issued for each company in each license type. Firearms Certificates cannot be shared between companies or types because firearms used while working are owned or leased by the company you work for per RCW. (To read more about this requirement please click on the RCW links: RCW 18.170.050 2 and RCW 18.165.060 2).

Bail Bond Recovery Agent - can I participate in the 8-hour Firearms Certificate Training Class if I don’t have an active unarmed Bail Bond license issued by the WA DOL or concealed pistol license/permit?

No, you must, at a minimum, have a concealed pistol license/permit. See RCW 18-185-250

Do I need to submit a separate application and $100 fee for a firearms certificate for my PS, PI, and BBRA (or any combination) companies?

Yes. Firearms Certificates are issued for each company in each license type. Firearms Certificates cannot be shared between companies or types because firearms used while working are owned or leased by the company you work for per RCW. (To read more about this requirement please click on the RCW links: RCW 18.170.050 2 and RCW 18.165.060 2).

Is there a fee for agency transfers, add/remove firearms, or renewals?

Not currently.

I hired an employee who has a Firearms Certificate with another company do I have to pay the full application packet fee of $100?

Yes. Firearms Certificates are issued for each company. Firearms Certificates cannot be shared between companies, because firearms used while working are owned or leased by the company you work for per RCW. (To read more about this requirement please click on the RCW links: RCW 18.170.050 2 and RCW 18.165.060 2).

What am I supposed to do to renew my (or my employees) Firearms Certificate each year?

Once you obtain your initial Armed Certificate you do not need to send us any notification unless you need to add or change a firearm to an existing Firearms Certificate record. To renew, you need to contact a PS Certified Firearms Instructor and set up a date and time to have your employee take the 4-hour renewal course. Once your employee completes it, the instructor sends us a roster of who attended. Your agency keeps the paperwork and test scores, do not send anything to the WSCJTC for renewals. Unless requested through pspi@cjtc.wa.gov, we will not email a renewed certificate.

  • Fully commissioned peace officers must be reported on a Form 727 annually to maintain their firearms certificate.

I am the main training contact for my company, is there a way for me to view our employee’s records?

Yes. Send an email to pspi@cjtc.wa.gov and we will assist you in setting up your account in Acadis®.

What am I supposed to do to renew my (or my employees) armed license each year?

You will need to contact the DOL directly for information about renewing your armed license.

Instructor Complaints

If you have a complaint about a Firearms Certificate Instructor, please use this form:

Contacts

For additional information on the Firearms Certificate Program, please contact:

Tisha Tyler, Program Manager
(206) 779-5381
pspi@cjtc.wa.gov 

Roxana Jenny-Williams, Administrative Assistant
pspi@cjtc.wa.gov 

No Trainings found