CIT - Force Options
This program is funded by the Mental Illness and Drug Dependency (MIDD) 2 Initiative PRI-08: Crisis Intervention Training – First Responders for King County Sheriff, Police, Jail Staff, Fire/EMS, and Other First Responders. In collaboration with the King County Sheriff’s Office and King County Behavioral Health and Recovery Division.
This is an 8-hour class to educate law enforcement officers on issues related to Crisis Intervention. The course is designed to provide training to law enforcement professionals to use appropriate force options when dealing with someone in mental health crisis.
This class will combine hands-on physical force options training and classroom lecture
Options will include resource options and full spectrum force options to include:
- Isolate and contain
- Avoid engaging
- De-escalation tactics
- Physical control tactics
- Less lethal
- Deadly force
The Training Catalog reflects current courses offered by Washington State Criminal Justice Training Commission. For each course, you may view a list of available training and request enrollment for any future events. Click here to view the catalog.
Participants must have taken at least 8 hours of tactical communications, Verbal Judo, de-escalation techniques, CIT related or any other communication type classes.
Who can attend our classes?
Class is open to all law enforcement officers and deputies in the State of Washington who meet the pre-requisites.
Reimbursement is available for this class. For more information, please review this information sheet.
- Duty belt with belt keepers
- Taser holster
- Civilian type shirt/jacket to wear when concealing weapons in waistline
- Mock duty weapon ONLY if carrying something other than a Glock
- Mat shoes
- Knee pads
- Mouth piece
- Light duty gloves
Visitors attending training at the WSCJTC are encouraged to wear their agency logo shirt/uniform or agency ID badge while on campus.
Visitors not wearing agency identification can attend classes in business casual attire. They will need to check in at the front desk and wear a clip-on visitor's identification card.
Classes are typically held 1000 - 1830, unless otherwise noted.
Contact your training unit or Training Manager to register you in the Acadis Portal.
If classes are full, or not available, please complete the Course Interest Survey. This is not a waiting list, but instead helps us see if there is enough interest to create another class. If we schedule a session, we will contact everyone who has completed the survey and request that registration be completed.
Deadline to cancel is 7 days prior to class. Send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org to cancel your registration.
$50 no show or late cancellation fee.